Thursday, February 18, 2016

Blog Tour: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk


About the Book:


Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: January 26th, 2016
Rating: 4 Stars
Source: eARC from Edelweiss
Pages: 256

Summary (from Goodreads):

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow. 
Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma andDanny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?
 
This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her  feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

Review:

Arrows is a very interesting story about a mistake made by a cupid, ending in unrequited love. A mistake that ends up changing the lives of two unexpecting people due to a little carelessness by the son of the original Cupid.

Karma has had a rough year since she was shot by Aaryn's arrow on homecoming and Danny was not, making her newfound love for him unreturned. She ends up getting pregnant and having a baby. She is a gifted dancer and is working incredibly hard to get a scholarship and she's been accepted into her dream school in New York City. She is an incredibly hard worker, managing to balance being a new mom, homework, dance, and a social life. The only fault I seem to be able to find in her was her way of forgiving Danny and looking past all the things he does to wrong her. He ditches her when she needs him, he bails on babysitting so he can party, he cheats, he is generally just a selfish jerk. But it is 100% not her fault. Everyone in her life can see how awful Danny is to her, but she is blinded by the effects of the arrow.

Danny is really good at making Karma's life difficult for her. He doesn't feel the same way for Karma at all as she does for him. He's always making up excuses as to why he can't watch his daughter. He doesn't think about Karma or Nell at all, all he thinks about is himself. He is a terrible boyfriend and father. He is horrible.

Aaryn is the cupid who messed up with Karma. He is stripped of his god title and sent to Earth as a human to try to get Danny to propose to Karma. He has ninety days to complete this mission or he's in trouble. He is so nice and sweet and caring. He is kind of awkward because he doesn't know what a lot of really basic human things are. I don't know how people didn't think he was a lot weirder than they did in this book, but maybe since he's so hot they just found it endearing.

I really liked the greek mythology aspect of this book. The only thing that I can say about that is that I would have liked to have seen more about what was going on at Mount Olympus while Aaryn was on earth. Because something was going on, you kind of hear about it, but it is really unclear to me what was going on or what the purpose of us even knowing about it was. Other than that everything else about the book is crystal clear.

I find it really interesting how just adding the effects of the Cupid arrow completely changes how I would otherwise feel about Karma. If this were a plain old contemporary novel, no mythology or Cupids or arrows, I would have been hardcore judging her. Rolling my eyes, shouting about how dumb she is for not leaving Danny and being so blind about his awfulness, and just generally having zero sympathy for her at all. But that little arrow makes me feel COMPLETELY differently about her. I'm sure that's probably the point, but just thinking about it, I'm kind of surprised that that one little detail can change how I feel about a character so much. 

Overall, I would recommend this book! If you're interested in Greek mythology, Teen Mom, unrequited love, this might just be the book for you!

Book Links:

About the Author:







Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a former magazine editor and columnist who loves strong coffee, live music, and arrow jewelry. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and two teenage children, one of whom is named after a Greek goddess.

Author Links:







GIVEAWAY:

Four winners will get an Arrows surprise pack!

No comments:

Post a Comment